Creating a conditional (if-then) regex

Hello! I’m new to OpenRefine, and to regular expressions. I wonder if anyone can give me guidance on creating a regex that will accomplish the following:

If column DEED-OF-GIFT contains any text, enter “donation” in column accession_acquisition_type
If column RECORD-TRF-FORM contains any text, enter “transfer” in column accession_acquisition_type

thanks!
Sarah

Do you absolutely want Regex or GREL?

This could be solved instead with Facets.

1. Apply a customized facet → Facet by blank on your column DEED-OF-GIFT.
  2. Then select “false” because you want to filter on rows with no blank values, in other words having “any text”.
  3. Then on column accession_acquisition_type choose Edit Cells → Transform and in the expression editor, change value to "donation" (note the enclosing strings), check the preview and if things look ok then click OK.

Rinse, repeat this strategy on your other columns as needed. Use Undo / Redo if things go astray and try other ways.

Facets are powerful to filter or apply conditionals oftentimes when the logic is somewhat simple:

• checking for nulls or blanks, simple text filtering, etc.
  • When more logic is needed, you can use a Custom text facet or Custom numeric facet.

If you wanted to use GREL with a Custom text facet, then you could use the expression:

isBlank(value)

If you wanted to use Regex with a Custom text facet, or just use the Text Filter with something like:

(^(\r\n|\n|\r)$)|(^(\r\n|\n|\r))|^\s*$

which says, no carriage returns, or new lines, or empty whitespace,
then click invert.